Alzheimer's Foundation of America

Foundation of America

Dementia Care Professional of the Year

2019 Dementia Care Professional of the Year

Pam Leonard,  LBSW, CDP

Birmingham, AL


AFA is pleased to announce Pam Leonard, LBSW, CDP, Program Director for CJFS (Collat Jewish Family Services) CARES in Birmingham, AL as its 2019 Dementia Care Professional of the Year!  Read more about Pam here

AFA’s Dementia Care Professional of the Year award honors someone who has demonstrated true professional excellence in care, compassionate performance above and beyond expectations, and a dedicated commitment to individuals living with dementia. These accomplishments can be recent or accumulated throughout a career of devoted service.

The professional may be nominated by peers/colleagues, employers, clients, or clients’ families. Individuals may be nominated by more than one person.

Accomplishments and success stories of any magnitude merit nomination—and are encouraged. Categories of accomplishment include, but are not limited to:

  • Extraordinary service to clients
  • Positive impact on families
  • Achievements through overall career of service
  • Changes to the care system or field of practice
  • Development of successful models of care and intervention
  • Positive impact on colleagues or workplace

Nominees must be currently employed in a professional capacity as a provider of care or service to individuals with dementia or their families. Professionals may be from any industry or field of practice (e.g., personal care aides, activities therapists, program directors, support group leaders, administrators). Nominees must be certified as AFA Dementia Care Partners through participation in AFA’s Partners in Care training program.