Alzheimer's Foundation of America

Foundation of America

Medical, Scientific & Memory Screening Advisory Board

AFA’s Medical, Scientific and Memory Screening Advisory Board is composed of leading experts in the care, research and treatment of Alzheimer’s disease.

Chairman: J. Wesson Ashford, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

Director, War-Related Illness and Injury Study Center at the Palo Alto campus of the VA Palo Alto Health Care System (CA WRIISC), and Clinical Professor (affiliated), Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences Staff, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

Peter Bayley, Ph.D.

Director of Research, War-Related Illness and Injury Study Center at the Palo Alto campus of the VA Palo Alto Health Care System (CA WRIISC), and Clinical Associate Professor (affiliated), Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, Stanford University

Nathaniel A. Chin, M.D.

Medical Director, Wisconsin Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center and Wisconsin Registry for Alzheimer’s Prevention Study

Margaret Dean, APRN, NP-C, MSN, FAANP

Retired Faculty and Geriatric NP

Texas Tech Health Sciences Center

Lori Frank, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President for Research, Policy, and Programs, The New York Academy of Medicine

Lee Hyer, Ph.D.

Professor of Psychiatry at the Mercer School of Medicine, Georgia Neurosurgical Institute

Jeremy Koppel, M.D.

Co-Director, Litwin-Zucker Center for the Study of Alzheimer’s Disease, Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research

Assistant Professor, Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

Monica Parker, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Neurology, Director of the Outreach, Recruitment, and Education (ORE), and the Minority Engagement Core (MEC), Emory University’s Goizueta Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center

George Perry, Ph.D.

Professor, Semmes Foundation Distinguished University Chair in Neurobiology at the University of Texas at San Antonio

Richard E. Powers, M.D.

Adjunct Professor, Departments of Pathology and Psychiatry, UAB School of Medicine

Allison B. Reiss, M.D.

Associate Professor of Medicine, NYU Long Island School of Medicine and Head, Inflammation Laboratory, Biomedical Research Institute, NYU Langone Hospital-Long Island

Frederick Schmitt, Ph.D.

Professor, Departments of Neurology, Psychiatry, Neurosurgery, Behavioral Sciences, and Psychology, Sanders-Brown Center on Aging, Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Research Center, University of Kentucky

Emeritus Members

Soo Borson, M.D.

Professor Emerita, University of Washington School of Medicine, Affiliate Professor, Nursing, at the University of Washington, and Research Professor at the University of Minnesota

Jeffrey L. Cummings, M.D., Sc.D.

Director, Chambers-Grundy Center for Transformative Neuroscience, UNLV, Joy Chambers Professor of Brain Science, Department of Brain Health, UNLV, Founding Director, Cleveland Clinic, Lou Ruvo Center for Brain Health

Sanford I. Finkel, M.D.,

Clinical Professor, Psychiatry, University of Chicago Medical School

Posthumous Emeritus Members

Herman Buschke, M.D.

Peter Davies, Ph.D.