Foundation of America

AFA Teens for Alzheimer’s Awareness College Scholarship Essay Contest

AFA’s Teens for Alzheimer’s Awareness College Scholarship Essay Contest is an annual competition for college-bound high school seniors.  Applicants are asked to write a 1,200 to 1,500-word essay that describes the impact of Alzheimer’s disease on themselves, their families or their communities, and what they have learned in light of coping with the brain disorder. The grand prize winner receives $5,000, with additional prizes awarded for runners up.

Submission deadline is Friday, January 17th, 2020.

Click here for more information or to submit an essay

AFA’s 2019 Teen Scholarship Essay Contest Winners
Thank you to everyone who submitted entries for AFA’s Scholarship Essay Contest. Congratulations to the following students who have been selected as winners in the contest!

First Place ($5,000):

Jason Sitt- Lynbrook, NY

Second Place ($2,500):

Abigail Ransom- Ambler, PA

Third Place ($1,500):

Corynne Emmerson- Salem, VA

Runners Up ($1,000):

Hunter Daniels – Clarks Hill, SC

Julia Mazzucato – Tustin, CA

Christopher Bi – McLean, VA

Jaden Carrier – Dayton Beach Shores, FL

Alexa Gallo – Newtown Square, PA

Caitlin Gurley – Pensacola, FL

Ryan McCue – Fort Lauderdale, FL

Sabrina Piccirillo-Stosser – Ossining, NY

Aisho Ali – Columbus, OH

Lindsey Hicks – Spotsylvania, VA

Morgan Phillips – Hollenburg, KS

Lacey Sanguinito – Little Meadows, PA

Lillian Segert – Grant Park, IL

Runners Up ($750):

Mason Cavalier – New Orleans, LA

Andrea Gehling – Breda, IA

Anna Gleason – Gross Point Park, MI

Caroline Howard – Harwich Port, MA

Annika Phillips – Portland, OR

Mia Quinlan – Marion, MA

Varsha Vedapudi – Troy, MI

Amanda Porter – Ashburnham, MA

Ashlee Phillips – Blakely, GA

Runners Up ($500):

Emma Marrs – Brentwood, TN

Joseph McInvale – West Point, NY

Kaitlyn Pendergrast – Galesburg, IL

Gina Vitacco – Carpentersville, IL

Monique Ades – Coarsegold, CA

Emily Pettesch – Hillsborough, NJ

Erica Wattenmaker – Southampton, PA

Myka Savage – Chicago, IL

Ashlyn Kelly – Dudley, MA

Xavier King- Pueblo, CO

Quinn Collier – Brunswick, GA