Foundation of America

AFA’s 2019 Teen Scholarship Essay Contest

Thank you to everyone who submitted entries for AFA’s Scholarship Essay Contest.  The entry period is now closed.  Winners for the 2019 contest will be announced in mid-June.  Please check this page for further information and updates. 

The grand prize is a $5,000 college scholarship.  Prizes will also be awarded for first runner-up ($2,500 scholarship), second runner-up ($1,500 scholarship), third runner-up ($1,000 scholarship), fourth runner-up ($750 scholarship) and honorable mention ($500 scholarship).  Since the program’s inception, nearly $250,000 in college scholarships have been awarded.

Congratulations to the following winners from the 2018 Teens for Alzheimer’s Awareness Scholarship Essay Contest:

Grand Prize Winner ($5,000):

Laurence Crandon- Clarksville, Maryland

First Runner Up ($2,500):

Dani Moore- Pendleton, Oregon

Second Runner Up ($1,500):

Brooke Serra- Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Third Runners Up ($1,000):

Cydney Black- Hackettstown, New Jersey

Kyah Davey- Ririe, Idaho

Sarah Birch- North Attleboro, Massachusetts

Quinn Thompson- Fairfield, Connecticut

Taylor Pennington- Gilbert, Arizona

Annie Wolfert- Fishers, Indiana

James Pedigo- Floodwood, Minnesota

Braden Gilbertson- Bismarck, North Dakota

Alexander Cole- Hillsborough, New Jersey

Samantha Moser- Cincinnati, Ohio

Fourth Runners Up ($750):

Catherine Becker- New York, New York

Haley Trebil- Edina, Minnesota

Megan Jackson- Crofton, Maryland

Angela Velazquez- Tucson, Arizona

Ashleigh Gundy- Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania

Mary Cannon- Lewes, Delaware

Skylar Gordon- Pismo Beach, California

Anisha Mahenthiran- Indianapolis, Indiana

James Ferry- Bayonne, New Jersey

Nicole Ferraro- Bethpage, New York

Honorable Mentions ($500):

Jonathan Lolar- Charleston, South Carolina

Nimisha Prasad- Oswego Illinois

Sarah Jehl- Grayson, Georgia

Abbygail Pollack- Orlando,  Florida

Averie Elsass- Massillon, Ohio

Brandon Salazar- Brownsville, Texas

Olivia Grassel- Boscobel, Wisconsin